devon’s quiche recipe

My husband will not eat vegetables. If it’s green, he won’t touch it; he won’t even look at it. When asked, he will tell you that his favorite vegetables are: potatoes and corn. Too bad there aren’t any green potatoes or green corn…

My husband also does not like heavy egg type dishes. This means, no frittatas or quiches in our kitchen. No sir.

My friend Devon threw a party and among the tasty food being served, there was a quiche. After my husband and I took a bite, the heavens opened up and our taste-buds told us that this was no ordinary quiche. It had a flaky crust and a smooth, moist center. It was comforting, delicious AND it had green stuff in it (spinach). I had the impression that this quiche was difficult and that it took hours to make.

When Devon sent me the recipe, I was very surprised that it only involved about 6 items. It really is that easy. My oven and I haven’t really figured out how to get along; and this quiche is pretty much one of the few things we can agree on together. I have made this quiche for baby showers, brunch parties and whenever I want to serve up something that looks beautiful. It’s foolproof and a crowd-pleaser. If someone like me can make this delicious quiche, you can too! Thanks Devon!

20141102_174218_HDR~2

Step 1: Combine eggs, heavy cream, salt and pepper in a food processor or blender. In this case, I used a blender.

Step 2:  Roll out one refrigerated pie crust in a pie pan. I like to use a clear pie pan; it helps to see if the crust is getting too brown or burnt.

Step 3:  Layer the spinach, bacon and cheese in the bottom of the pie crust. I like to pile on the spinach. Who knows when my husband will eat green stuff again.

20141102_175842_HDR

Step 4:  Pour the blended egg mixture on top. Make sure to cover the spinach with the mixture to prevent it from burning.

20141102_180106_HDR~2
Step 5:  Bake for 35-45 minutes until the egg mixture is set. Don’t worry if the center might still be very soft when you take it out of the oven. It will continue to set and sink as it cools.

20141102_185049_HDR

Step 6:  Share half of it with someone special.

20141102_185859_HDR

devon’s quiche (recipe)
6 large eggs
1.5 cups heavy cream
pinch of salt & pepper
2 cups chopped fresh baby spinach, packed
1 pound of bacon, cooked and crumbled (I used a bag of bacon bits)
1.5 cups of shredded Swiss cheese
1 (9-inch) refrigerated pie crust, fit to a 9-inch glass pie plate

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine the eggs, cream, salt and pepper in a food processor or blender. Layer the spinach, bacon and cheese in the bottom of the pie crust, then pour the egg mixture on top. Bake for 35-45 minutes until the egg mixture is set.

Leave a Reply

