señor taco: the best fish tacos

33120 Pacific Highway South, Federal Way, WA 98003
(253) 661-9915

20150105_193437

I have learned that you simply can’t sandwich a fish in a tortilla and call it a fish taco. I have had my share of delicious, different versions of this humble taco. I have tried them grilled and fried. Thin batter, thick batter… you name it. Prior to going to this establishment, my favorite place to get fish tacos was at Agua Verde, on Lake Washington.

It was one fine evening of discussing Mexican eateries in the Federal Way area when a friend of ours was shocked that we had never been or heard of Señor Taco. What did they serve? Where was it? If it was amazing, why haven’t we heard about it before? Curious, a group of our friends decided to meet at Señor Taco for dinner.

When I walked into the restaurant, I couldn’t help but notice the décor. It was basic, a picture of the Virgin Mary hung on the wall. The floor was a little grimy and seats/table stained with food. It wasn’t what I’d call the cleanest place I’d ever eaten. We sat at a table and waited for the rest of our group to arrive. This gave me a chance to look at the menu.

The menu is limited; they serve: tacos, burritos and tortas. No tortilla chips and salsa. I clearly wasn’t in Chipotle. Each fish taco was about $2.50. I decided to order just one to start.

This order forever changed my life regarding what a real fish taco should taste like. It was fresh, satisfying and included: a red cabbage slaw, tomatoes, fresh cilantro and a mildly spicy sauce. The fish was fried and crispy. Everything, from the tortilla to the crunchy cabbage, the sauce, the crispy fish and the cool flavor of the tomatoes helped to balance the contrast of flavors and textures. This taco was it. It was the stuff that fish taco legends were made of. I quickly ordered 2 more. The cook/server was very friendly. We stayed and closed the place down.

Señor Taco, you are my new favorite place!

20150105_193442

Leave a Reply

